Institute of Political Science

Welcome to the homepage of the Department of Political Science at the Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg!

The Department of Political Science as well as the Departments of Sociology and History are part of the Institute of Social Science (IGW), which belongs to the Faculty of Humanities at the Otto-von-Guericke University, founded in 1993.

The Department of Political Science consists of three Chairs. Their denomination mirrors their respective research and teaching focus.

Political Science with a focus on Sustainable Development


Political Science / European Multi-Level Governance


Political Science with a focus on International Relations

Since October 1st 2017 Prof. Dr. Alexander Spencer is holding the chair for International Relations. The research of the chair focuses on constructivist approaches, international politics in general and peace and security subjects in particular. Of particular interest is research on (violent) non-state and regional actors, international organizations, foreign policy, critical security research, discourse analysis, peacebuilding, international negotiations and mediation.


Last Modification: 27.06.2019 - Contact Person: Webmaster